Snow, Snow Chains and Salt (1 Viewer)

JaveaSteve

Free Member
Nov 8, 2017
Javea, Alicante, Spain
Funster No
MH
Hobby Premium T70GE
Basically a newbie, although 7 months experience of M/H in Australia, Two trips in Spain (1800klm) next week I will drive over to UK and confront the Beast from the East. I have NO experience of driving on Ice and Snow so have been researching and reading both Motorhome Manual and Fiat Manual where they state:
"Snow chains may only be mounted on the front drive wheels; it is strictly forbidden to mount snow chains on the rear wheels."
In my preparations for UK trip I now have 4 snow chains as I also read on the net, 4 x snow chains give you better control in braking and grip. I am aware they have to be fitted to drive wheels but wonder why they should be forbidden on the rear wheels as well. Can anyone explain/advise.
Also what do you guys do re washing the salt from under the motorhome, wait until home, allow rain water to wash/dilute it, forget it and have a beer?
Do you also clear all the snow from roof before setting off, as with a Spanish LHD plated vehicle I don't want to fall foul of the 'driving without due consideration' or 'using a motor vehicle in a dangerous condition' by a PC official...........

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Can honestly say I see no reason not to put chains on the REAR.
It maybe goes back to the days when all vehicles were rear wheel drive and not safe to chain the steer wheels.
A lot of UK traffic law seems to pre-date the horse and cart.
There should be no reason to fit rears though...all you're doing is pulling the back end and if you're going fast enough to get the REAR end sliding out on corners you're going far too fast for the conditions.
As for snow on the roof, you will be committing an offence if the snow slides off causing an accident in the same way you would if anything carried, ie: cargo, was to come loose and fall off

Last edited: