Snipe 2 Update

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Jellybean, Jun 12, 2018.

1. Jellybean

Jellybean

Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,
    Firstly, please be gentle as I'm not technically minded at all. Having problems with our Snipe 2 not finding Astra 2 (even in a big open space beside the shore). Rang Avtex, spoke to a very scathing guy who told me to run the update files. Well the stuff that's coming up on the Selfsat website is not the same as the pictures on the instruction manual that I printed. Can anyone advise? I was at the end of my tether thinking of 3 weeks in France with my husband, son and no TV, but luckily for me Irish Ferries have just cancelled our ferry home...…

Thanks in advance

2. Lozsing

Lozsing Funster

Ratings:
    +57
    do you have a usb stick

3. Lozsing

Lozsing Funster

Ratings:
    +57
  4. Jellybean

Jellybean

Ratings:
    +6
    Yes I have a USB stick, if I download that stuff onto it, can I plug the stick directly into the controller unit? That’s what it shows in the instructions online, but it’s only giving me an option for “firmware” for Snipe 2, and I don’t even know what that is!

5. RichardB

RichardB Funster

Ratings:
    +182
    If you send an email to service@selfsat.com and ask them for the latest version of the Snipe2 firmware they will send you it. The version they send it a lot newer than the one on the website.

When they send you a file back is it will be a zip archive. If you click and open the zip file on your PC and copy the FWUPDATE.BIN file inside it to your USB stick...

Put the USB stick into the Snipe Controller and power it up pressing the TUNE and POWER button together. The display will show that it is upgrading.

• Informative Informative x 1
  6. RichardB

RichardB Funster

Ratings:
    +182
    Not sure if this is allowed but I have attached to the latest firmware update they have sent me - its version 18041 and works fine on my Snipe2...

Attached Files:

• Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1