sites open after lockdown good value ? (1 Viewer)

Geoffla9

Free Member
Mar 3, 2020
Funster No
MH
Hymer
Exp
Hi , i am new to this but i would like to know what others think . After the lockdown my wife and I have had 10 days away on the north east coast in our motorhome . I was unsure what to expect , this is what we found .
First site , a small family farm site near Whitby . Perfect site with fantastic views , toilets and showers closed ( we new this when we booked so no problem ) . Very friendly owners , price of stay the same as on the website before the pandemic . Why do they charge the same with no facilities ? . I think a little reduction would have been appropriate , what do you think ? .
Second site a Caravan and Motorhome Club site near York . Big site with about 80 to 100 vans and caravans , facilities were open but only allowing three people in at any time . You had to leave a band you were issued with on arrival on the hook outside the toilet block, if three hooks full you had to wait for someone to come out . A good idea BUT ! a lot of people forgot to pick up their band when leaving !! . A couple of times i went for a shower i was the only person in with a que of four or five angry men waiting outside. Other time i had to wait up to twenty minutes. The cost of the site was the same as before the lockdown . I found this situation fraught . I think i will wait until next year before going away again .

Jun 12, 2016
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Globecar Revolution
Exp
Since 2006
Would you prefer that the sites didn't open at all?
Regarding charges under the circumstances it's ok to charge the same
Sites have already lost a big chunk of income
Motorhome are supposed to be self contained thought I know a lot of people prefer to use site facilities where possible us included
I'm sure a lot of folk with Van's will have more or less written this summer off for various reasons
This may be the new normal and people have to choices how they adapt to it