Sink drains (1 Viewer)

Oct 2, 2020
Woking, Surrey
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Apache 634
Exp
Since 2020
I am new to MoHo's and have found my kitchen sink quite slow to run away. Is there a benefit of running a liquid drain unblocker through it and if so, which one will not damage the system please.
Or should I try an old style plunger?

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Be careful with plungers. Some vans have push fit pipes.. Last thing you want is to blow off a pipe somewhere you cant get at to fix. Motorhome drainage is not like houses, small 1" pipe. Being on an angle can make a lot of difference.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
Several vans I have looked at because of very slow drainage had no vent from the waste tank. So any water going down the pipe needs to displace the same volume of air from the tank. Some manufacturers used to rely on venting via the shower drain, but the advent of "traps" to prevent smells now resists this ability. An empty tank with the drain open should allow the sink to empty fast. If not you have at best a partial blockage in the piping

As said, resist the urge to go at it with a plunger for the reason given, joints can separate and also the risk of damage to the sink itself

Nov 17, 2012
WEST SUSSEX
Funster No
MH
HYMER B SL 674
Exp
SINCE 2005
yes some are often slow - when in the Northern hemisphere wizz the water round clockwise and the reverse in the south.

Sep 2, 2020
Funster No
MH
Autoquest 196
Exp