Sigh. No Ehu

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by TheWM, May 19, 2015.

  1. TheWM

    TheWM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    451
    Location:
    London
    More travails - plugged in ehu for the first time and nothing. Checked the board and it seems to have been turned off (switch was red) result I thought sorted it myself! Alas nope switching it has not helped. Ask a stupid question but do I need to tell the MH I'm on hook up on a Raipdo A Class? The fridge won't switch to ehu and sockets are not working. I have included a pic which shows the switches are set in the right place. At this rate I'll be overloaded with ale and whisky for all you guys. Might have to leave the family at home!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    7,684
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Some ELH posts you have to plug in and then turn the plug 1/4 turn clockwise ... could this be the problem?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. TheWM

    TheWM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    451
    Location:
    London
    I'm at home using a 240v socket so that's not it I don't think. Will test the sockets though.
     
  4. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    7,684
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Ok .. process of elimination then starting with the 240v socket then your hook-up lead and so on.

    Silly suggestion but you have checked all the circuit breakers in the m/h!
     
  5. TheWM

    TheWM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    451
    Location:
    London
    There's always the possibility the lead is not in correctly. I've pulled it out twice without using the blue release latch. I've busted my hand so will try again using my left hand...
     
  6. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    9,515
    Location:
    south shields
    are you sure about the switch positions... most consumer unit type devices I have seen are down when tripped or off, and switched on by lifting up... all I can think of.
    andy.
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  7. rb62

    rb62 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    7,999
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Looking at the picture are the switches all off, I is on O is off?

    Andy beat me to it!
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  8. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    9,309
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Those switches are off , should be up and make sure they are all the way up, sometimes a step in them
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    9,309
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    And me:)
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  10. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    17,698
    Location:
    notloB
    Yep, those switches are all off. Up is on. The yellow button is an RCD tester. You are supposed to test it once or twice a year by pressing it and the main breaker should drop within so many milli seconds
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,339
    Likes Received:
    8,075
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ditto!:)
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  12. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    9,515
    Location:
    south shields
    lol... Richard that's what I thought when I saw the picture but thought that was too easy a solution
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. TheWM

    TheWM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    451
    Location:
    London
    Lol - you guys like I'm thick or something.

    Oh hang on a sec - I am! Power is on and there is life in the battery charger.

    Cheers guys - now time to take the p*ss.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like it Like it x 7
  14. emmitdb

    emmitdb Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Wot!!!
    Two minutes and no sarky remarks.

    Must be tea time.
     
  15. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    9,309
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    No problem,easy enough mistake to make why they are up for on , no idea
     
  16. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    17,698
    Location:
    notloB
    Oh hell! Hang on a minute I know what happened. The MoHo is upside down so the switches looked as though they were on. :eek: :LOL:
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  17. rb62

    rb62 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    7,999
    Location:
    Shropshire
    I think you'll find most of us have been there,done that,got the tee shirt!(y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  18. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7,403
    Likes Received:
    14,593
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    being of very limited skill in almost all departments, one thing I do is to push the RCD to see if it trips, that confirms there is power at the consumer unit, no power it doesn't trip

    I am also blessed with a controller that has a nice little icon to say connected or not, although, it often says I am still connected when I am not, beeping at me when I start engine

    glad you are sorted (y)

    and only took 24 minutes :) could be a record
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  19. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,801
    Likes Received:
    14,646
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    It's supposed to be a safety issue - if someone was to fall on the switches they would go down and switch off rather than down and switch on..... at least that is what a friend who is an electrician told me :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  20. TheWM

    TheWM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    451
    Location:
    London
    Lmao. Thanks guys. If I had a brain/common sense/any skills I'd be dangerous (and possibly more competent than I am now)!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page