Should I get this Fiat Ducato 2.8TD 1999 - fifth gear too far over? (1 Viewer)

Carmella

Free Member
May 14, 2016
Scotland
Funster No
MH
About to purchase
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi everyone, a newbie here looking forward to being part of this fab community! I'm looking for some advice please. I'm searching for my first motorhome and tried one today that ticked all the boxes except the gears didn't seem quite right (and it needs its timing belt replaced). Anything that's wrong with it I can use to negotiate a better deal but I need to know if these issues may be something serious and very costly before getting back to the owner.

The main issue; Fifth gear was waaay over to the right, so much so that your hand touched the indicator stick. Seller didn't have anything to say about this, just said it's something you have to get used to. Anyone else had this? Can it be fixed and for how much? It's really putting me off what otherwise seems a perfect vehicle!

The gears crunched sometimes when I changed them, and seemed a bit 'sticky'. The seller said that I needed to let it rev longer before changing. When he drove it, they didn't crunch.

Any feedback most welcome, would you buy this? : )

OP
OP
C

Carmella

Free Member
May 14, 2016
Scotland
Funster No
MH
About to purchase
Exp
I'm a newbie
Forgot to say its due its MOT next week, seller is putting it through.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Oct 15, 2012
Market Harborough
Funster No
MH
C Class Laika Ecovip 7R
Exp
Hi and welcome to FUN, the 5th gear, being an add on, has a great many variants. Most need warming up usually by driving about 5 to 10 miles in 4th to get the oil circulated. Hope you get yours sorted to your satisfaction. :)

Oct 19, 2013
East Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 115
Exp
Few years