Should I get a drive away awning for the motorhome? (1 Viewer)

Oct 12, 2011
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Lowline
Exp
Since 2011 therefore I'm not a newbie anymore
Hi,

We normally go to Provence twice a year ( spring and autumn ) for four/five weeks where we stay, mainly outside, on one site and cycle all around the area.

However due to some ill health on my part we feel it would put too much pressure on Yvonne if I fell ill abroad, therefore we have decided to stay in England this year.

We plan to stay on a number of campsites for a week at a time and cycle around the area ( somewhat less mileage than before)

Now we all know the weather here is variable at the best, so is it worth buying a drive away awning so we can be protected from the worst of the weather without having to be stuck in the van all the time.

If it is worth buying the drive away awning which would you recommend.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Bob

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
We have two awnings - a drive away and a "day" awning. Both are Sunncamp brand and we have used them both a lot - especially when with our Grandson as he likes to play inside the awning - more space than in the van.

The day awning is only two or three poles and a one person job to put up (although easier with two people). The drive away is more complex (but not that much) and could be done by one determined individual but really a two person job. Only one have we actually "driven away" and left it on site!!! We do leave things of lowish value in the awning overnight (picnic table etc) and during the day when we are around we'll have bikes and kayaks in there (plus wet weather gear drying off).

The drive away awning has an optional sleeping tent which we use when extended family come to visit us overnight if we are nearby...... just gives a little more space and privacy inside the van.

Upvote 0

TCG

Jul 6, 2017