Shetland Over Xmas - Any Pointers (1 Viewer)

Blue Knight

Free Member
Aug 7, 2017
Durham
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
G'Day Funsters,

I was wondering if any of you have ever visited 'Shetters' over Xmas. We are potentially looking at a short hop between the 22nd and 26th Dec. These dates would be the ferry travel times.

Has anyone got a particular camp site on the mainland which they would recommend. It would need to have showers and an EHU capable of powering an industrial sized hair dryer (for me, not Nicky:D).

The ferry has sleeping pods available but are these things any good.

Any advice or good n' bad experiences would be really appreciated as I have very little knowledge of ferries, or Shetland come to think of it.

Thanks all,

Andrew

kelpie

Free Member
Feb 1, 2015
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr E745
Exp
3 years
Don't know about the ferry to Shetland , but first on my list of must takes would be seasickness tablets :D.
Think you can go to Orkney first and break up the ferry trip.
Good lady and I went to Outer Hebrides last June. Oban to Barra was five hours , bored rigid by the end of the crossing. The fact you can get a sleeping berth will probably help greatly.
Once we Got to Barra it was short crossings for the rest of the islands . Loved it. Would like to go to Shetland but we have a collie, so maybe too long on the boat, we'll see.
I think I would prefer to go at this time of the year for a bit of snow , and photographs of larger waves at the shore. Small waves whilst on the ferry though:).
Whatever the weather , ENJOY.
John

John65

Free Member
Aug 7, 2016
North Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2000
It's a 12 hr.crossing so if you don't get sea sick I would get a cabin and have a good nights sleep. Pods are ok but you might get disturbed.if you are a poor sailor like me you'll spend most of the journey hanging over the back of the boat:(:(

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp