Screwing anything into walls safely!? (1 Viewer)

Jan 17, 2022
Scotland, UK
Funster No
MH
AutoSleeper Neuvo
Exp
Newbie!
Hi folks,
I’m new to motorhoming, but quite a keen diy-er. Apologies in advance, as this seems such a basic question, but I’m struggling to find an answer.

I’ve seen a few tips & tricks which involve attaching something to a wall. At the moment I’m just thinking about some ‘pocket’ storage in the overcab bed area for mobile phone, glasse, etc. It’s an Autosleeper Neuvo, which has soft walls in that area. That said, I’m sure there may be other places I’ll want to attach something. I’ve read about Command tape solutions too, but not sure how they work on soft or rough surfaces.

I’m looking for general advice for screwing into internal walls in a motorhome. I’ve got an old house, so if I’m doing work there I use a wiring/plumbing detector and choose fasteners depending on what I’m screwing into. What’s the story inside a van?

Many thanks,
Heeb

Apr 3, 2018
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
1995-2004 & 2017》
Very carefully... Sure better informed Funsters will be along shortly but I am very very reluctant to drill and screw any holes in my moho. 👍👍👍

suavecarve

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2009
Surrey/Hants
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 685
Exp
July 09
If youre unsure and it is possible to put someone on the other side of the wall (for example shower or cupboard) then you can slowly choose a self tapper with the other person saying NO very loudly as they see it protrude on the other side.
These were the tactics I just used to fix the tv point in the bedroom as guessing the width of the wood was educated guessing but if a "bubble" started to appear then I could stop before any real damage.