Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Evening all

We are looking to have a week or so in the real North of Scotland :)

Just had a bit of a scan on google maps and it appears the A Roads stop towards the top.
Are the roads towards the top easily passable in an A Class?

Sorry if this is a stupid question as I haven't been further North than Fort William :)

normanandsue

Free Member
Dec 31, 2010
Dunfermline - Scotland
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2007
Yes. No dual carriageway, often single road with passing places, buses and coaches use these roads so no problem for your mh

mikebeaches

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 22, 2010
Bristol
Funster No
MH
Rapido V68 Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2009
Much easier than minor roads in Devon and Cornwall, for example. Usually have good visibility ahead, and as you'll have seen plenty of designated passing places on single-track roads. Everybody is mostly courteous, and hangs back to allow you to pass. Or of course you can do likewise, when you see another vehicle in the distance.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Yes. No dual carriageway, often single road with passing places, buses and coaches use these roads so no problem for your mh

Excellent stuff thanks.

Im not bothered about driving on single track and using passing places as I look ahead when driving :)

Just wanted to make sure they are passable in an A Class (y) if buses use them no worries then :)

bigtwin

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 29, 2009
Derby
Funster No
MH
Concorde
Exp
Since 2006
Puzzled.com

The A roads go all the way up to the North of Scotland and all the way along the north coast.

You can't beat the 'real' North of Scotland - not like that North Coast 500!

Ian

golly

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 16, 2009
Land of the Prince Bishops
Funster No
MH
HYMERCAR PVC
Exp
since August 2009