SatNav sales in decline, John Lewis not stocking them anymore.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Mack100, Oct 13, 2017.

1. Mack100

Mack100 Funster

Ratings:
    +1,811
    Saw this in a newsletter on a Satnav site:
    I didn't realize this was happening. I've used Waze when abroad in a hire car but still prefer using my TomTom device. Looks as though it's days are numbered.

• Informative Informative x 2
  2. Richard and Ann

Richard and Ann Funster

Ratings:
    +905
    Yes I've been saying for a few years Tomtom will become a software company, like Sega.

3. Minxy Girl

Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

Ratings:
    +20,981
    We like TomTom's dedicated units but also like our tablet Sygic too - we're gonna give the TomTom app a try again and see if it has improved on the earlier versions which have limitations so aren't as good as the dedicated unit. I've said for a while that if TomTom did a dedicated large screen unit which you could 'manupulate' like a tablet it would be great, unfortunately they haven't so we use our tablet with Sygic and keep our TomTom unit as a back-up.

• Like it Like it x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. tomm

tomm Funster

Ratings:
    +476
    The choice of sat nav apps is now at such a level that people can experiment at very little , sometimes nil cost , to find a system they like. Rather than shelling out a lot of money for a dedicated unit and possibly not getting on with it .The apps even being pre loaded with particular POI sets .

5. Minxy Girl

Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

Ratings:
    +20,981
    Yes that's very true the difficulty with some of them though is that you can't put on your own POIs which, for us, is a major issue as they don't come pre-loaded with aires etc and can't be added.

6. movan

movan Funster Life Member

Ratings:
    +45,544
    OMG ..... that's me done for then. I get lost WITH a satnav ... no chance now. :(

• Funny Funny x 12
    • Love it Love it x 1
  7. tomm

tomm Funster

Ratings: