Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
Anyone had any thing to do with one of these
Link Removed
Are they any good
Or any advice welcome , dont want to spend loads as we dont watch much tv in the van but this looks handy for europe if its raining :Smile:
Thanks

RogeTeri

Free Member
Apr 8, 2012
Abrantes, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
February 2013.
I'm no expert! But have been considering options for Europe. Problems seem to be:

Where in Europe you planto go, Spain and Portugal will require around 120 dish

Changes due to Astra footprint. May become narrower in future and result in no or poor reception further from UK

I'm at Peterborough show this week so will let you know if I can get better information for you.

callumwa

Free Member
Jan 16, 2011
Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
4 yrs +, 30+ yrs motorbike touring
Anyone had any thing to do with one of these
Link Removed
Are they any good
Or any advice welcome , dont want to spend loads as we dont watch much tv in the van but this looks handy for europe if its raining :Smile:
Thanks

A portable dish on a tripod will give a perfect picture however this one is very expensive.....
I used to use an old sky dish on a tripod. The tripod cost me £15.
A sat box can be bought for £20 or £30, a 12V HD Box for £50. I used an old sky Box so total cost to me for this type of system was £20.

Without the box you can buy this dish, tripod, quad LNB and cables with connectors for £40.
Link Removed

add a Link Removedbox

Total cost for this system £65... If you want a signal meter you can buy one for a couple of pounds, but after a few practices you will not need one....
As to how far south in Europe you can receive a signal will primarily depend on the dish with whatever system you buy.

We now have a Road Pro Dome on the roof. Perfect on a rainy day, as at the press of a button its working within 30 seconds, without faffing about in the rain. More expensive of course.

::bigsmile: