satellite tv

Discussion in 'How To' started by bobble, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. bobble

    bobble

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone got a good compass for aligning roof mounted dish ? The one that came with my dish is useless.
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,548
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +24,570
    i know what you mean.....bin it and get a good one from an outdoor/orienteering shop....Millets or similar sell 'em.:thumb:

    what dish do you have?


    by the way....just noticed its your first post so welcome to the fun
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2009
  3. bobble

    bobble

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a Maxview manual
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,548
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +24,570
    good dish.....thats what i have.:thumb:

    you only need to find north as you know and a good compass will do that.
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,548
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +24,570
    do you use a satfinder as well or just point and hope?
     
  6. Kon tiki

    Kon tiki

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    North Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have a watch or clock with hands on it you can always use that to find south How to use your watch as a compass
    or even easier just look at the vans around you & see which way they are pointing :RollEyes:.

    I can usually get my cheap suitcase type dish up & running while some of these automatic ones are spinning backwards & forwards :Eeek:
     
  7. stagman

    stagman Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    I had trouble with my compass until I realised that I needed to be outdoors to take readings as the compass was being affected with the interior of the van EMFs etc . Take the compass outside well away from other vans and even the cheapest compass should work . As P.J. says the Maxview is easy to use but if you have a receiver with signal strenght meter you won't even need a compass.:thumb:
     
  8. Ralph-Dot

    Ralph-Dot Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,085
    Location:
    Billingham
    Ratings:
    +84
    I have used numerous compasses but none will work anywhere near the van, they always point north south along the length of the van. So I walk away from the van, take a reading, lay a stick or something along the line, then use that for a guide. Usually though I just guess.

    Ralph
     
  9. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,874
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,588
    The trouble is looking at the vans around you (unless in England) can be miss-leading..I live in France and while we motorhome in France my wife watches English TV.. We are in a motorhome with French number plates on!!! and if you see the ammount of FRENCH motorhomers look at mine and try to set there tv up to it, the satelite dish gets dizzy going around and back to the same spot in the end they wind the dish back down and give up unless I say to them we are watching uk tv then a big smile comes on there faces and there arms are all over the place. I use a good compass
     
  10. andyman

    andyman

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +728
    I bought a digital compass off E-Bay £14 inc p&p. It also doubles as a inside and ouside thermometer. You velcro it to the dash drive arround in a big circle and it calibrates itself even though it is inside the M/H.

    Andy
     
  11. Ralph-Dot

    Ralph-Dot Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,085
    Location:
    Billingham
    Ratings:
    +84
    My digital compass didn't work in the van either, although I never noticed calibration instructions.

    Ralph
     

Share This Page