Satellite not working ?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Pam, Aug 15, 2014.

  1. Pam

    Pam Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi were at Malvern has anyone got any ideas why we can't get our oyster unit to pick up , it's only two yrs old , it says LMB failure , it searches for Astra two but don't find it , the man on trade stall wants £50 to look at it , any help would be appreciated were on disabled field thank you
     
  2. sean n maggie

    sean n maggie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +340
    check connections in to sat box,,if those ok then sure one of funsters will nip up on roof to check connections to lmb at dish ok....sometimes turning off and re seting does the trick....and is it finding the sat ?
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,945
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +15,143
    LNBs do fail, as do cables and connections corrode. the easiest way to double check is run a temporary coax from the sat box to the LNB
    otherwise you will need to get a replacement LNB from Oyster or have somebody fit one for you
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,660
    Hi. if it says LNB failure then either the LNB is faulty or the power supply to it so as already mentioned above check the connections at the Digi box are secure. then its up on roof to check the connection to the LNB. if all the correct connections are in place and there is voltage to the LNB then it is likely a new LNB is needed.

    i am assuming that the dish does raise and turns to search.
     
  5. Pam

    Pam Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    No it's not finding the sat
     
  6. Pam

    Pam Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    Ok thank you
     
  7. Pam

    Pam Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    It's looks like a new LNB then , I'll go over to trade stalls and get the fella to fit one thanks all for your help
     
  8. Pam

    Pam Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    Sorted , it wasn't LNB , and he only charged £25 , thanks everyone
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  9. chrisinplymouth

    chrisinplymouth Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    Out of interest what was the problem?

    Chris
     
  10. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,350
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +11,995
    I suspect just a badly fitting "F" plug...
    The Inner and outer cables often slide and can cause a short or poor connection, having it on a mobile vehicle and a turning dish gives it all the more chance...
    Glad you got it sorted and also at a sensible price."
     
  11. Pam

    Pam Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    It was the transponder code it just needed reprogramming x
     
  12. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Stamford
    Ratings:
    +1,195
    You're correct in principal but the OP trumped you with their answer
     
  13. Wildman

    Wildman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    aha the dreaded reshuffle.
     
Loading...

Share This Page