Satellite dish (1 Viewer)

eyeball74

Free Member
Mar 25, 2021
Washington, Tyne and Wear, UK
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Hi all. I am looking at purchasing a foldable satellite dish so I can take my Sky Q box away with me in the UK. I don’t want to spend a fortune as I only go away several times a year. I want a roof mounted one but manual crank would be fine. Any suggestions?

Dave_E

Free Member
Sep 21, 2019
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Have you considered a fire stick and the sky app. saves on money and weight.Loads of info.on here re sims etc.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
eyeball74

eyeball74

Free Member
Mar 25, 2021
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Thanks guys. I have a fire stick hd and I also have a sky subscription. I have added the BT sport app which works superbly but I cannot get the sky go app to install. Any help would be great.

Upvote 0
Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
I had the same problem with VirginGo, you have to side load it onto firestick as Amazon don`t want you to use it.
Can`t remember how I did it now but it was done with guidance from a post on here, so use the search tool and you should find it

Upvote 0
Mar 26, 2020
Uranus
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 185
Exp
To go back to the OP's original request: I'm personally not into subscriptions and firesticks so all I use is either terrestrial Freeview or a portable sat dish (Free-to-Air). I found the problem with a roof-mounted sat dish is that if a tree or suchlike is in the way, you're going to have to move your van; and as the TV is probably one of the last things you set up, that could be a bit of a pain. Therefore, I use a portable dish and have loads of cable to be able to move it around.
I think my sat dish is a 65cm Maxview, it's very good but a bit on the expensive side, however, if you're limiting yourself to UK a much smaller dish should suffice. There are loads on Google / Bing under 'portable satellite dish'.

Upvote 0
Jan 17, 2010