Sat Nav for Campers (1 Viewer)

May 3, 2020
Basse Normandie France
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo
Exp
I'm a newbie
Ive had a sat Nav in my car for near on 20 years now and most of the time its been pretty good,

I use a TOM Tom stand alone device, I have done for years and only a coupe of times I have come unstuck, I usd it mostly in a xar but occasionally in a Renault Traffic van when it tried to send me through a very low bridge

now for my question

is there a specific sat nav option for larger vehicles? so when following it, it doesn't try and send you down unsuitable routes

I've looked at the GPS Thread but nothing there seems nothing obvious

Apr 12, 2012
N/E Lincs
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Rienza
Exp
as above
There are several motorhome sat navs available. You can input you’re vehicle size so it should only find routes to suit you’re van.
When our Garmin was stolen I wanted to replace it with a motorhome one but the insurance replaced like for like.

Upvote 0

suavecarve

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2009
Surrey/Hants
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 685
Exp
July 09
Youre going to get different replies with different ones that people have got from the £50 Chinese one on ebay to the super duper top of the range Garmin 660

You have to sort the wheat out from the chaff by ignoring personal opinions of bias towards their own.

I have the Garmin 660 (but i reckon you worked it out)

Upvote 0

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
You've got no hope, firstly of getting any consensuses as to which is the best for motorhome use and secondly with the satnav's available at present of actually doing the the job properly.

We have an old TomTom motorhome edition which was okay but the maps are now way out of date, Copilot which was pretty good until Trimble bought them out and totally screwed it up and Syngic Truck RV edition which is what we use mostly but is still not 100% reliable.

Upvote 0