Safety and Legality of Side Facing Seats? (1 Viewer)

Red_48

Free Member
Aug 26, 2018
Funster No
MH
Sprinter CDI313 LWB
Exp
My 2013 Sprinter came with a forward facing Mercedes double passenger bench seat fitted behind the cab. The vehicle is registered with DVLA as having 5 seats, all 5 with working 3 point belts.

I’m considering mounting the bench seat lengthwise along the side of the van but want to make sure there are no legal restrictions or safety concerns with lap and cross body belts.

Can anyone advise?

Aug 2, 2017
South Kent Coast.
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since 2004
I'm not an expert in this matter but if approved with forward facing seats and seatbelts - no way would mounting the bench seat lengthwise be acceptable. The seatbelts would be mounted sideways for a start.

Last edited:

Nasher

Free Member
May 6, 2016
Pontardawe
Funster No
MH
Pug Boxer
Exp
Since 2013
I'm no expert either, but:

As far as I am aware, there is not a legal restriction for a VAN, but from a safety point of view the seat belts would be totally ineffective in most collisions - so for me it would be a NO don't do it

For a motor caravans after 2007 you can not have side facing seats - so it's another NO

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Bailey58

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 23, 2010
Norfolk and Toftir.
Funster No
MH
Sold
Exp
July 2010 (ex tugger)
Not the answer to your query but would you put your kids in there and be happy, or the mother-in-law?

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
In a severe frontal impact a side facing seat offers little support.
A belt will possible cause more bodily damage than it could ever prevent.
The shoulder strap would cause severe, possibly life threatening, injuries to one side of your neck or you would simply slip out of it from the other depending if it was left or right.
The lap belt would cause severe hip and pelvic injuries as you slide sideways at many times your body weight (G forces).