Jan 24, 2014
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper PVC
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all

I purchased a new to me 2006 Adria Twin a couple of years ago. It had a bike rack on the back, but I don't have a bike so I took off the rack leaving to the two support rails in place. I thought this wouldn't be a problem, but, where the rails go round the corner of the door they have gone rusty. The rust is really quite bad and it's running down and staining the paintwork.

At one stage I thought of putting the rack back on, but it won't cover these wrap around parts!

What I'm wondering is:

Should I take the rails off the van? But then the holes that were drilled in the rear door will be exposed!
Or, should I clean up the rust, how??!!! and then paint it with something?

Anyone experienced this before??

Thanks

Yvonne

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
Hi all

I purchased a new to me 2006 Adria Twin a couple of years ago. It had a bike rack on the back, but I don't have a bike so I took off the rack leaving to the two support rails in place. I thought this wouldn't be a problem, but, where the rails go round the corner of the door they have gone rusty. The rust is really quite bad and it's running down and staining the paintwork.

At one stage I thought of putting the rack back on, but it won't cover these wrap around parts!

What I'm wondering is:

Should I take the rails off the van? But then the holes that were drilled in the rear door will be exposed!
Or, should I clean up the rust, how??!!! and then paint it with something?

Anyone experienced this before??

Thanks

Yvonne
Do you have a photo my worry would be the rust is from the door where the holes are drilled rather than the bracket might be best to get it off and see whats behind . You could then either get the bracket back to bare metal and paint it before refitting to neatly cover the holes or just put blanking plugs in depending on the condition of the door.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
pengy

pengy

Free Member