Free Member
Mar 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Pilote P740C
Exp
Since 2013
I have bought a 2000w inverter to install in our Pilote motorhome and I need to site it away from the battery, this is due to the fact that the batteries are fitted under the forward facing dinette seat but it's also the area where all the electrics and the heater is housed so there's no room. I intend to fit the inverter in the storage space in the seat base of the seat inside the door, the shortest route would be under the van but I'm just checking if this is feasible to run cables under the van and what to house them in, would a PVC conduit or trunking be sufficient or do I need to find something more substantial, if it is indeed plausible to do it anyway.
Dave

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
You can run it in the flexible ducting and clip or tie wrap it to the chassis.
Obviously up as high as possible to keep out of harms way (y)

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
You could use some hose pipe which tends to be more flexible and easier to bend than ducting, I used some to protect the flexible gas pipe (stainless steel braided) when I ran outside to my external filling point - the hose pipe 'cover' is the green 'snake' in the photo!

gas filler 3.JPG

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Last van I ran mains from inverter under the van and 12v & video cables under the van. Used convoluted split conduit easy to us as you can fit after you have run the cables. Obviously the mains and low voltage cables need to be in separate conduit.

Sep 16, 2013
Horncastle, UK
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2006