Routing Solar cables in Tribute PVC T680 - which way? (1 Viewer)

dna

Jan 17, 2010
Llandudno
Funster No
MH
AT Tribute 680 pvc
Exp
since 2009
Hello all,

A while a go I posted about getting a roof rack to accommodate a kayak on our 2018 autotrail tribute panel van.

As we run a guest house, things on the van have not progressed for a long time but we finally got round to ordering things last week. We've gone for the Thule system and have got a solar panel as the fitter recommended locating that first before fitting the rack.

My question is where is the best place to run the cable into the van roof to be able to use the existing cable runs to access the controller / battery (both under the rear offside bench) - anyone done this?

Sep 14, 2018
Middlesbrough
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Have a look at gadget John on tour on YouTube he's done loads to his tribute including fitting solar

Reactions: dna
OP
OP
dna

dna

Jan 17, 2010
Llandudno
Funster No
MH
AT Tribute 680 pvc
Exp
since 2009
Thank You - I'll have a look this evening

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Mar 30, 2019
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Trigano Tribute
Exp
Since 2017
I drilled a hole in the roof above the locker on the drivers side and ran the cables behind the liner running down back from where the seat belt is attached and then under the bench seat behind and into the controller.
All cables hidden.
Gadget John has bought a base model van and upgraded everything, interesting but not sure if he’s saving any money this way?

OP
OP
dna

dna

Jan 17, 2010
Llandudno
Funster No
MH
AT Tribute 680 pvc
Exp
since 2009
Quick update - engineer on way to do the installation tomorrow (Fingers crossed). I wrote to Autotrail and got the following reply within 24 hours -

Thank you for your enquiry regarding the installation of a solar panel to your Tribute 680