Free Member
Sep 5, 2016
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr E495
Exp
Hi, total beginner here i am afraid !
Pick our new motorhome up in a few weeks and starting to think about where to go and how. Its a 6 berth and rather long so i was wondering how people plan their routes ? I clearly dont want to get stuck in a little village or under a low bridge
How do you plan your routes and are there any Motorhome specific Sat Navs or Phone Apps ?
Many thanks
Duff

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
A regular sat nav works fine
Look out for road signs warning of low bridges and narrow streets and you'll be fine.
We've used ours all over Europe without issue in a 7.6m van
If you approach a road that looks tight, simply stop, zoom out on your sat nav screen, pick another street and carry on.
Camper specific sat navs only cover major routes so are not totally reliable.
Enjoy your travels

Upvote 0
May 7, 2011
East Anglia
Funster No
MH
Kontiki 669
Exp
Since 2010
I'm a beginner but also an HGV driver so very little worries me regarding where I can drive. Just remember if the bus or the bin lorry can go there, you should have no trouble.

That's a thing we always look out for,if bins are out you can get through
No problems.:)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Shrimp

Funster
May 27, 2015
Bedfordshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer B584
Exp
Long time
Most Sat Navs can be programmed for a particular size of vehicle, hubby uses CoPilot app on his phone & it's more reliably than our SatNav!

Upvote 0

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
Look out for bins, but also keep a keen eye out for large tankers. :)

In France the Michelin atlas is useful as it shows bridge heights.

Upvote 0

TerryL

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 5, 2010
North East
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp