"Right Click" not working

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Pilote87, May 13, 2018.

  1. Pilote87

    Pilote87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    Département 87
    Ratings:
    +355
    Can anybody give any suggestions, please?

    For about a week now I cannot open anything up into a new tab, new window, or a new private window, BUT the problem only seems to be with MHF. I can't even click on a link to an external connection to open it up. An example of this is the link to the lady driver not understanding what cruise control is.

    I can see the link trying to open up the new tab / window, but it immediately closes down again.

    I am running Firefox on my HP laptop.

    Thanks in anticipation

    J
     
  2. sueandjohn

    sueandjohn Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    lake district
    Ratings:
    +409
    Have you got pop ups blocked
     
  3. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    9,657
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +39,425
    this might just show how useless I am at technology, but don't you use left click not right click ?

    failing that when did you last restart your laptop, that seems to fix most of my issues (y)
     
  4. DaveandJen

    DaveandJen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    South Kent Coast.
    Ratings:
    +329
    If the problem is only when viewing MHF best send a note to Jim about the problem.
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    33,082
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +28,010
    Corrupt cookie.
    Clear cookies and cache.
    Log on using the URL address, not from a favourite or link.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Pilote87

    Pilote87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    Département 87
    Ratings:
    +355
    Yes I have, but I have blocked pop-ups for a long time

    I have restarted my computer at least twice since the problem started, so don't think that is the solution.

    I will. Any thoughts @Jim

    I will do that now and come back with the result.

    Thank you all for your suggestions. Much appreciated.

    J
     
  7. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,031
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    Ratings:
    +2,247
    Try getting a previous backup and seeing if that works
     
  8. Pilote87

    Pilote87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    Département 87
    Ratings:
    +355
    @pappajohn I have cleared the Firefox cache, but to no effect.

    @denisejoe I'm being a bit thick tonight as I am not sure what you mean.

    However, I am off to bed now as I am an hour in front of you and have been up about 18 hours now. I'm getting old. I'll check here again in the morning.

    Thank you

    J
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    33,082
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +28,010
    Did you also clear cookies and physically type www.motorhomefun.Co.Uk into your address bar?
     
  10. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,031
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    Ratings:
    +2,247
    Go to a previous backup
     
  11. Pilote87

    Pilote87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    Département 87
    Ratings:
    +355
    Yep, done that! Laptop has been off overnight, re-cleared cache and cookies (remove all option) this morning and re-started computer. Still no change.

    It does seem that I am only having this problem on "Fun", not on other forum(s) or
     
  12. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,907
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +99,330

    Try another browser and see if you have issues then. (y)
     
  13. Pilote87

    Pilote87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    Département 87
    Ratings:
    +355
    @Jim, thanks Now why didn't I think of doing that? I loaded up Chrome and it worked, but I didn't log in as I can't remember what password I am using on Fun at the moment. The lack of a password shouldn't make any difference though, should it?

    J
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice