Free Member
Aug 29, 2013
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis T564
Exp
Since July 2015
As someone looking to buy their first motorhome I am thinking about what options I want on any vehicle I purchase. I'm not used to driving a large vehicle and have little experience of driving a vehicle with no rear view, so my question is....... Reversing canners. Essential or just nice to have?

Nov 19, 2013
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Sold up!
Exp
since 2013
As someone looking to buy their first motorhome I am thinking about what options I want on any vehicle I purchase. I'm not used to driving a large vehicle and have little experience of driving a vehicle with no rear view, so my question is....... Reversing canners. Essential or just nice to have?

Newbie here, had my motorhome 6 months and could survive without camera but I have to reverse into a small slot on an angle to park MH so it is essential to me for that purpose.
Rarely use it on open road or for parking at a site but it is useful to have as a extra pair of eyes when things are tight.
You need to have an appreciation of what it sees as it uses a wide angle lens and in my case sighted high up so view is not as you see it from ground level.

Upvote 0
Oct 28, 2013
Lincoln
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
I find it useful for keeping an eye on the rear of the van when in slow moving traffic too.
Makes a useful little security device if you've got bikes on the back as well....:thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007
I did two years without one then decided it was a bit of a risk not being able to see if anything was right behind the van when reversing.
Now, I would not be without the camera. I don't use it when travelling along but it's invaluable for manoeuvring. Mine has a built in microphone which is useful if, for example, children are playing in the area.

Upvote 0

Dogeared

LIFE MEMBER