Retro fitting rear seat belts advice please (1 Viewer)

Hanski

Free Member
Mar 29, 2017
Frome Somerset
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi. We've just bought a Niesmann Bischoff Arto
It's great but we want to fit 2 rear facing seat belts to the dinette seats.
It already has a 3 point one on the outside and lap belt on inside forward facing seats.
We want the same on the rear facing seats.
Does anyone have experience of this ?
I have a garage looking into it and they say they can do it but they are concerned about liability.
Many thanks.

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
I doubt if you will find anybody that keen to do it as there won't be the required structural fixings that would be there if it had been a factory option, and I doubt your insurance would be happy either.

Martin

Louis

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 29, 2016
Anglesey
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato Auotrail
Exp
6 Months with motorhome(35 years tugging)
If there are seats there are added structural fittings. Seat belts can be secured to these. But as rightly stated - liability issues are a worry for fitters, but can be checked by VOSA. Whether they or anybody else would certify them is another issue.

Louis

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 29, 2016
Anglesey
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato Auotrail
Exp
Don't know what happened there?

I'm intrigued as to where extra support would not be used in a motorhome?

Boringfrog , just read your included article.
My answer related to added structure to secure seats. I appreciate that some self or other builds have wooden seats - but these would not have the added structure.
Common sense then prevails, metal framed seats have added structure, if not, can easily be added and seat belts secured appropriately.
As your article states it's then a legal issue.

Last edited:

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012