Free Member
Mar 20, 2017
Australia
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
We will be ready for that retirement pilgrimage next year when me and the missus do GB/Europe from Australia. We have decided that the purchase of a new or late model Motorhome and trailer car in England and travel throughout over the course of a year would be our best bet. Understanding the 90 day in 180 day limit of how long we can stay we plan to visit countries not bound by the Schengen agreement to cover that lay time. Anyway I digress, I have an Australian driving licence that allows the driving of heavy vehicles so my international driving licence should cover a motor home under 7500t. However I cannot find out whether it covers the towing of say a smartcar on a trailer. The GB towing requirements are confusing as it depends when you got your licence etc. Can anyone refer me to a previous post or give information on the problems I am likely to encounter. Some I am already aware of such as insurance for Australians in GB/Europe, the need of a permanent address for registration and relevant purchase paperwork and the constant ribbing about the Australian Rugby Team.
Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thankyou.

denisejoe

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 6, 2014
Warden isle of sheppy
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2004
Not sure how it would affect you but for UK citizens you need to have passed your test before 1997 to be able to tow without taking another test.

The only way to find out for certain is to contact DVLA and ask.

Denise

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp
IMG_0855.GIF