Request to fiat ducato owners

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by nunny666, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +41
    Can someone please take a photo of where their temp sender unit is that is connected to to gauge , I can't find it anywhere in mine , ime running a 2.5 fiat ducato td , thanks in advance ,
     
  2. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +46,471
    Type 'eper' to Google. That puts you through to the trade parts finder for Fiat. Go to 'spares', and type in your vin number. That opens a box containing your complete vehicle details. From there, you can select any parts on your engine, part numbers, and location.
    Very handy bit of kit. :thumb:

    Give me a shout if you get stuck.
     
    • Like it Like it x 15
  3. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +41
    Great thanks for reply I will give that a go, appreciated
     
  4. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +41
    Tootles , well I never people had been saying it was in engine block or by the thermostat housing but looking at the diagram on the site above its actually in the radiator , cheers buddy
     
  5. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +46,471
    Are you sure??? There is a temp switch built into the rad half way down, that controls the fans coming on.
     
  6. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +46,471
    Look under section 'WATER PUMP AND LINES', numbers 24 and 25 are, I think, the temp gauge sender unit(s), looks as though it screws into the thermostat housing, and should have a sender wire coming from it.
     
  7. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Stretford
    Ratings:
    +2,503
    What a clever boy u are tootles
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +46,471
    Thank you, it's hereditary, from a whole line of prats.....::bigsmile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  9. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +41
    Lol ace , will look again cheers
     
  10. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +41
    Yep that's defo it but I reckoned to look round that housing followed too hose to housing and I couldn't see anything with wires near thermostat housing will look again tomoz , thanks again for pointing me in right direction , that's a great site
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. B-well

    B-well Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Kent coast
    Ratings:
    +1,159
    Tootles what a great read, to see someone follow through and help a funster :thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  12. mikekaren2

    mikekaren2 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +261
    Tootles, on the eper page where it states Drive L/R there are two boxes SX or DX what do they mean & which do I tick for left hand drive?


    Thanks
    Mike
     
  13. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +46,471
    Hey, were all paddling around in the same bucket on here. It will be my turn screaming 'HELP'
    next week maybe! :thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  14. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +46,471
    It dosent seem to matter, Mike, once you enter your VIN number, most of the boxes are closed for you anyway. I left mine on 'DX', ticked to 'code', not 'engine'. Just check that your chassis number has been entered correctly, its the last 8 (I think) of your VIN code.
    Interesting point, original engine number comes up. Fiat built their engines with an engine ID plate held onto the block by a rivet. It corrodes, then the plate falls off, so this is a great way of finding a number if your V5 has a block casting number, instead of an engine number, as mine has.
    Also, clock the prices they want for original spares.....:Eeek::Eeek::Eeek:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. martin1485

    martin1485 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Conwy, North Wales
    Ratings:
    +775
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. Wyaye wires

    Wyaye wires

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +9,341


    FFS don't tell him that... :cry:



    I mean he's an ex tanky for FS... ::bigsmile::winky::Blush:



    There'll be no living with him now... ::bigsmile::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  17. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +46,471
    AND, unlike your splendid self, I have the good looks of a 'Tanky', and not the ugliness of a 'Grunt'........:ROFLMAO:
     
  18. Barclaybasher

    Barclaybasher Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +10,934
    Very useful thread and info - thanks Tootles

    Only read it though 'cause I thought it said - Request to FAT Ducato owners !:Doh::Smile:



     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  19. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +41
    [​IMG]
    Shall be looking for the pesky sender unit tonight when home from work lol thanks again
     
  20. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +41
    Well I can't see anything with wires coming off near my thermostat housing , this is weird here's a pic
    [​IMG]
     
Loading...

Share This Page