Replacing a broken C3402 with 4E or 6E?

Discussion in 'Heating and Air-Conditioning' started by The Lobster, Nov 28, 2018.

  1. The Lobster

    The Lobster Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Borders of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +108
    I'm told by the motorhome repair man that my Truma C3402 may end up needing to be replaced. At the moment there is what appears to be a PCB problem and they're looking to source a replacement - but this may not be the worst case. They're quoting around £1200 for a complete replacement but I'm thinking at that price I could consider a contemporary unit like the Combi 4E or even 6E instead - and up-rate the heating power at the same time with a 6E. On the face of it these units look similar functionally (same number of hot air outputs, same gas/electric water heating, similar analogue control if I don't want the fancy digital/iNet option) - so is it feasible to consider such an update? Thanks.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. chipspie

    chipspie Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Debyshire
    Ratings:
    +44
    Hi

    I replaced my broken old Truma a couple of years ago with 4E. the instructions are really good that come with the new units. I just took my time and read everything several times checking each thing as I went along the new unit works great and I now have the bonus of hot water and heating on electric when hooked up. as always its a must to
    get any work you have done checked by a qualified person for gas and electric, before you use the new unit. I believe one of the reasons my old unit failed was because of very little ventilation in the wardrobe cupboard I added extra ventilation and also made sure the drop vent to the outside was completely clear. I am sure there a lot of other funsters on here who can give you advise and point you in the direction of qualified people to make sure any alterations you get done are safe. cheers
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,195
    Ratings:
    +1,911
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. The Lobster

    The Lobster Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Borders of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +108
    My wife's suggestion is get a new PCB to repair it then take another look at that new Itineo A-class...
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9,537
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +28,964
    I have just googled for images of the boards and it looks like they use bog standard components on the board. It isn't even surface mount.
    Any good electronics repair shop should be able to repair these boards. The components all appear to be what we used to call jelly bean components.

    For instance in this picture you can see the in the second row from the left, the bottom IC (chip) is an LN324N which on mouser is only 40p and mouser is an expensive supplier.

    https://www.mouser.co.uk/ProductDetail/Texas-Instruments/LM324N?qs=VolsR0DjNPqtt3qB38bTqw==

    [​IMG]

    There isn't even a microprocessor on the board as far as I can see. They all look like op amps. Loads of resisters, capacitors, a handful of zener diodes. I am seriously struggling to see £300 worth of parts there....
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  6. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9,537
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +28,964
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. The Lobster

    The Lobster Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Borders of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +108
    I agree - but my problem is finding the time for self-repair. As with most motorhome components, these PCBs are expensive to buy but don't contain anything special. I've always assumed that this was because of the lack of competition and relatively low volume in the marketplace. I'm resigned to paying over-the-odds for repairs :(
     
  8. KUSKUS

    KUSKUS Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Ratings:
    +525
    I have a similar problem , boiler not working on electric, heating or water , new elements £324 !
    plus I also have a problem with boiler shutting down intermittently .
    local dealer refuses to remove boiler from Rapido but will do it if I take the boiler to them. Local Caravan engineer will remove it and refit for a reasonable £80.
    So any guess on total bill as labour is £93.60 per hour, its going to be a bleak Christmas at are house!
     
  9. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,537
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +8,956
    It's not because they're low-volume - it's because they can. The Automotive Industry is as bad - £400 and up for an under £20-worth box & bits.
     
  10. KUSKUS

    KUSKUS Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Ratings:
    +525
    Took my truma 6e boiler to local dealer and they have quoted my a mere £1453 to repair it !
    Works ok on gas water but sometimes shuts down on Gas heating 202 or 212 error code.
    Electric side not working on heating or water heating .
    I am thinking of replacing it with a Truma 4e not sure it would have sufficient gas heat output.
     
  11. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +5,298
    What repair are they doing for that money?

    D.
     
  12. KUSKUS

    KUSKUS Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Ratings:
    +525
    Replacement electric elements , damaged PCB and gas valve possible frost damage ?
    Tried to get Truma to do it but there not doing repairs till next year , training course apparently.
     
  13. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +5,298
    Seems a bit pricey, pcb is a couple of hundred quid, elements I'd have to look up, same with the gas valve but I'd expect about £300 - £400 for both so £600 for parts. That's awfully expensive labour, especially as you've removed it and will reinstall it. On the bench it's an hour's work to strip and rebuild. On a side note I've only ever had to replace a combi gas valve when the inlet stub snapped due to misalignment when it was installed.

    D.
     
  14. KUSKUS

    KUSKUS Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Ratings:
    +525
    looking on the net the elements work out about £325 for kit with seals etc, don't think you can just get the elements anymore.
    I think they have priced it so that I refuse repair and buy a new one from them , they quoted £2200ish for new 6+.
    I am going to refuse repair and get it back, no doubt they will screw me for an inspection fee.
    I have been offered a new 6e boiler by a south wales company for £1200 less a px exchange for mine think it might be the way to go forward.
     
  15. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +24,611
    .
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice