Removing wind-out canopy from ‘van...... (1 Viewer)

AndyPK

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 7, 2015
Cirencester
Funster No
MH
None……..!
Exp
Motorhoming since 2015......
We’ve had the ‘van for a year now, and used the wind-out canopy/awning only a couple of times, so I’m thinking about removing it and having a caravan-style awning rail fitted. This will allow us to attach a standard porch awning or whatever if we’re pitched for a couple of days or more. The ‘van was new (19 plate), so I’m going to ask Marquis (the dealer) how much it will cost for them to carry-out the work - I don’t want to void the warranty! If nothing else, the weight reduction with the canopy off will be about 40kg - and every little helps!
Have any other a Funsters done this, and was it worth it?

:unsure:

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Lots keep the fixed canopy even if later buy a drive away awning.

Then they can leave the awning behind for shorter trips or when they know they're going to be static.

Edit: My fixed canopy is held on to a bracket by three screws: front, middle & back.
I wouldn't pay someone else to take it off. But I'd get a tall mate to help me take the weight if I removed it.

DuxDeluxe

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 10, 2008
Planet Zog
Funster No
MH
A woosh bang van
Exp
since 2008
If you have a Fiamma awning then your awning rail is already there. Leave it in place would be my suggestion

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
I’m thinking about removing it and having a caravan-style awning rail fitted
Sorry. This bit I left is key & I didn't address it in my 1st post.
If you're not thinking of switching to a drive away awning, but some other "mounted to vehicle" awning, you should check the addon sides & rooms your current fittings have.

GWAYGWAY

Free Member
Sep 6, 2014
Dover
Funster No
MH
Hymer ML I 580
Exp
4 years