Remove stuck down Solar Panel - HOW ?? (1 Viewer)

Jul 16, 2020
Hungerford, West Berks.
Funster No
MH
AutoSleeper Nuevo 04
Exp
30+ years
My solar panel has given up and needs replacing, but how do I get the old, stuck down, semi flexible panel off without ruining the roof of my MoHo ??
Anyone done it, any advice (practical please).
Cheers

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
One of the you tubers I follow has old ones that will not come off. He installed rigid ones over them.

Are you getting flexible replacements? I’m not an expert but rigid seem more reliable.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Sep 22, 2017
Funster No
A multitool for the plastic bits and a cheesewire saw for the mastic/sealant. Check this is completely possible before starting though.

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
Ours is rigid but it's a good idea to put it down on aluminium channel so it can easily be replaced. You buy special nuts that lock into it 👌😎

OP
OP
Zebede4500
Jul 16, 2020
Hungerford, West Berks.
Funster No
MH
AutoSleeper Nuevo 04
Exp
30+ years
Fitted new Framed panel and found removing original stuck down panel surprisingly easy. BUT, The mess under the old panel was horrendous. As there is no air circulation under the panel the heat generated has discoloured the gel coat to a toasty shade of brown !!!
Would never use a 'stuck down' panel in these circumstances again.

Mar 30, 2019
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Trigano Tribute
Exp
Since 2017
When you get it off use one of those plastic tools for removing silicon bathroom sealant to remove the goo works really well.

Mark and Mindy

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2017
Nr Bicester
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640 SGX
Exp
Since 2019