Remote damp monitoring (1 Viewer)

brightspice

Free Member
Jul 19, 2018
Funster No
Hi all

I'm new to motorhoming (is this even used as a verb?) and have already suffered the consequences of leaks and condensation causing damp :-(

I was wondering if a (portable/not permanently installed) remote readable temperature/humidity/motion sensor product is being used by anyone? When I'm in the motorhome I can see what's going on, but when it's not in use I’d love an easy way to see what conditions inside are like to guard against developing problems (like new leaks appearing!)

I know I could install a wifi-type thermostat, but this is a 'project' and quite expensive. Besides wifi-thermostats also require mains hook-up, which I've already found isn't always available. I want something simple that works by plugging into the mains/a cigarette socket, uses a Pay As You Go SIM, and allows me to monitor conditions through an app of some kind.

Are we the only ones to suffer from this and does anyone have any pointers? Otherwise I'm thinking of getting my husband to pull together a solution when he next has time on his hands!

Many thanks

Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
I think your over thinking / complicating things.
Just check for leaks periodically if your concerned.
Temperature and humidity will not really tell you much.
Ventilate well when not in use, drain water over winter and don't heat it.
That's all I do.
BTW how many leaks have you had, why do you think you'll get more.
Condensation is a result of poor ventilation .

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Leaks and damp can take months or even years to become apparent, it isn't something you sit and watch happen.
The cure for condensation is ventilation... And lots of it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:
OP
OP
B

brightspice

Free Member
Jul 19, 2018
Funster No