Remote access to desktop PC

Discussion in 'Computers' started by rrusty, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. rrusty

    rrusty Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +172
    Any recommendations for a free remote access, need to get into my work computer from time to time when away.
     
  2. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,718
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2,914
    windows or apple?

    Not a expert but I suspect people who are might need this info :D
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2,481
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +3,551
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Lozsing

    Lozsing Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +61
    splashtop is what I use
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. rrusty

    rrusty Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +172
    Windows
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,374
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +48,047
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +392
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +392
    @ShiftZZbeat me to it!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Manxcat

    Manxcat Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +326
    Another vot for teamview here
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7,966
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +20,658
    Any of the above suggestions will work pretty much equally well but your work computer will have to be switched on, logged in and awake.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. ymfb

    ymfb Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +5,359
    We only use team viewer for the IT guy to log in and fix or look at things on the machine. For server access we use Windows Remote Desktop, everyone works on a virtual server.

    I think the big difference and I’m happy to be told otherwise is that TeamViewer needs someone at both ends, there can be a few issues with different sized screens. Remote Desktop needs more setting up, but is seamless.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Electraglide

    Electraglide Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Farnham Surrey
    Ratings:
    +584
    One problem we had when monitoring energy plant remotely was automatically updates. Laptops then restarted needing a physical visit to enter a password. Updates then became part of a monthly maintenance visit.
     
  13. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +392
    All the comments are very relevant to remote access re. swithed on, updates etc. I quess the key thing to understand is what do you need remote access for? Is it for data running an app etc. Once you have ascertained this the solution will fall out!
     
  14. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +1,226
    With windows I use a VPN to connect to the network and then Windows Remote Desktop. The key bit is the VPN to home, once this setup you can access anything movies machines, streaming services. Very useful.
     
  15. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    15,731
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ratings:
    +28,166
    Wouldn't the windows one do?
     
  16. Linda and Steph

    Linda and Steph Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,491
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +2,408
    Microsoft’s own Remote Desktop is simple and secure.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice