Free Member
Mar 26, 2020
staffordshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, when storm Bella hit us on boxing day our skylight departed company from our beloved 2014 Chausson Motorhome.
I have since investigated these and it appears they are very badly designed with a mechanism that is not fit for purpose.
Has anyone else had this issue and is there an alternative or do we have to bite the bullet and purchase a five hundred pound (ouch) Remis that is rubbish.
Any advice please.

OP
OP
Andyfozz

Andyfozz

Free Member
Mar 26, 2020
staffordshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
It is the 900 x 600 Remis 43r-002050 the entire top blew off snapping the hinges and smashed onto the road.
It is scrap now. I wondered if there was an alternative rather than replace with an item that is obviously not very good.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Andyfozz

Andyfozz

Free Member
Mar 26, 2020
staffordshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
No that is the issue it was closed, but the hooks that lock it down were not working correctly. The winding mechanism was buggered. Looking for a replacement now but may change it to another make if possible.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

seakay22

Free Member
Jun 25, 2019
Funster No
MH
Malibu GT600
Exp
Since 2002
No that is the issue it was closed, but the hooks that lock it down were not working correctly. The winding mechanism was buggered. Looking for a replacement now but may change it to another make if possible.

The winding mechanism broke on my Remis rooflight too within a few uses from new although mine is 700 x 500 but basically the same thing, by all accounts it's not that uncommon. The Heki versions are a lot simpler in their operation but I don't belive they fit in the same hole. I'm still awaiting a new winding mech and intend to use it very carefully in future!

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OP
OP
Andyfozz

Andyfozz

Free Member
Mar 26, 2020
staffordshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie