Free Member
Dec 28, 2009
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
Hi all,

Not sure if this is the right board to post this, but never mind...

I'm in the process of restoring the interior of a 28yo Peugeot Tabbert motorhome. The units are in fine condition with no rot, but... Some previous owner has covered them all with 'wood effect' vinyl, and not done a very good job. It's all creased and looks rubbish.

So, any ideas of a straigtforward and fairly easy way of making it look good? I'm going to rip off all the vinyl, and already know the doors and units are in fine condition, so it's just a finishing job really.

I'm a bit new to this, and generally more comfortable with electrics and mechanics. Some years ago I refurbed a VW Kombi interior, but simply painted all the units, which kinda suited its 70's look.

The Tabbert needs a better finish I think. So, any ideas?

Thank you.

OP
OP
Hammerhead

Hammerhead

Free Member
Dec 28, 2009
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
Cheers pappajohn, that looks like good stuff.

Really want to do it myself though, so might give it a go on a couple of panels then get a critical eye (my wife) to tell me if I'm competent. ::bigsmile:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Cheers pappajohn, that looks like good stuff.

Really want to do it myself though, so might give it a go on a couple of panels then get a critical eye (my wife) to tell me if I'm competent. ::bigsmile:

i think the biggest drawback with this stuff is once its on...its on, no second chance to reposition it.

the iron-on my come off again with heat re-applied and a firm but gentle pull but the contact adhesive type wont budge.

dazzer

Free Member
Jul 30, 2007
In my house
Funster No
MH
Virtual RV!!
Exp
10 Years
Whats the wood like underneath?? Can it be sanded/dipped/sandblasted and revarnished or is well knackered??