Refillable Gas (1 Viewer)

Sep 30, 2018
Berkshire
Funster No
MH
Swift 612
Exp
I’m a newbie
We are planning to go down through France to Spain March/ April is refillable gas the best way to go as I understand I won’t be able to exchange my Calor bottles

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
Refillable is not the cheapest option unless you are a heavy user or thinking long term but it is the most convenient when travelling abroad.
If you go for refillable cylinders rather than an underslung tank then you can of course in most cases move them from van to van if you change vans.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

glenn2926

Free Member
Sep 11, 2012
Gods country
Funster No
MH
Chausson
Exp
newbie hired 3
Refillable is usually around one fifth of the cost of bottled gas. We have an underslung tank (55 litres) and have had absolutely no problem filling anywhere in UK, France, Spain,Portugal, Belgium or Holland so far. I would definitely recommend getting a refillable system. The added bonus of having the underslung tank is gaining a large locker where the gas cylinders used to be.

Upvote 0

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
AN ALTERNATIVE..

If your plan is mainly to be in Spain then your calor will / should last easily for the France section.
Once in Spain buy a used Spanish bottle for €10 ish.. a 13kg refill is about €14... SORTED....

I have butane bottles and so all thats needed is to take off the clip on bottle adaptor from the end of the pigtail and replace with a "jumbo" spanish adapter. Available here in UK from several supplied about £15-20. There are 2 main suppliers in Spain.. Repsol and Cepsa, both have the same fitting.

SAM_0959.JPG

Upvote 0

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Refillable bottles