Refillable gas bottles

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by irnbru, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +18,798
    We have 2 x 6kg gasit bottles with manual changeover. The other night our gas ran out so I switched the changeover but still no gas. Decided I must have forgotten to fill the gas up after using a bottle so went to filling station to refill. The bottles only took £6. Any idea of what the problem might be?
     
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,369
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,773
    Did you open the other bottle as well as changing over?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +18,798
    I never close any, I don't touch the top knobs so both open but a few people were trying to get my gas working that night so I guess its possible. Will check it tomorrow and report back.
     
  4. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    How much do you normally pay to fill up?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,369
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,773
    At about £50ppl it should be £12
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Zigisla

    Zigisla Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,690
    Location:
    Fareham, Hants
    Ratings:
    +2,852
    At that price I will stick to Calor:LOL:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    (I assume you mean 50 pence per litre) So that looks like only 1 bottle got filled, so the other one is probably shut off.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,369
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,773
    Yes :xdoh::xlaugh: 50ppl :xThumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,369
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,773
    The shut off valve only stops gas going out not going in so it suggests it was already full
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  10. Zigisla

    Zigisla Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,690
    Location:
    Fareham, Hants
    Ratings:
    +2,852
    Only a suggestion, but could the 80% shut off v/v be faulty
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +18,798
    Sorry for delay in replying. Both valves are definitely open. I think it might be the cold. Yesterday we had on the boiler, fridge, 3 gas rings and the grill and the gas seemed to be coming through very little so I went to move the manual changeover and noticed one bottle was all frosty. Still some gas though when we turned some things off the supply got better again.
     
  12. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,369
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,773
    The bottle in use WILL get frosty that is normal in cold weather.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  13. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12,268
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ratings:
    +20,775
    Basically you were trying to use the maximum amount of gas that can pass through the pipework to make a lot of things work so I'm not surprised that it was slow, the bore on MH gas pipework is nothing like at home so by turning off some stuff it allowed others to make use of the spare gas, hence the improvement.

    As for running out, sounds like you might have used more than you expected?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    9,003
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +12,884
    Or the one way valve on the inlet.

    If you filled up in the UK it will be propane should be OK down to -40.

    Could be nothing to do will filling and the old problem of a gummed up regulator.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  15. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,083
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +27,865
    How long has the system been fitted ?
    There are a few regulators that seem to get gummed up..
    May well be the case a new regulator is on the cards
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12,268
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ratings:
    +20,775
    Where had you filled your gas bottles previously? I'm wondering if you filled them abroad in which case you could have a mix of butane and propane and butane won't work at low temperatures.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +18,798
    It had a new regulator fitted just before we bought the MH.

    @MinxyGirl we did fill abroad before we came home but have filled £6 since.
     
  18. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,288
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +45,694
    That's how I tell how much gas is left in our 47kg bottles at our static van. Frost on bottle is gas, none frost is empty of liquid. (y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  19. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12,268
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ratings:
    +20,775
    I noted that you'd filled £6 worth in the UK. If you already had some butane in the bottles from abroad it would mean it was still in the bottles but wouldn't 'gas' at low temperature therefore making you think the bottles were empty, but as you've found when you filled you only got £6 in so there must be something in the bottles to prevent another £6 worth going in, hence my 'butane' sitting there but not able to be used theory. If it's possible you could try lifting the bottles and seeing if they feel 'heavy' which would give you an idea if there was some gas (in liquid form) in them.

    I think the regulator scenarios are red herrings and nothing to do with the amount of gas in your bottles, I also don't think you have a gummed up regulator otherwise it would be a problem when only one or two appliances were used.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  20. SandraL

    SandraL Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +285
    "If you filled up in the UK it will be propane should be OK down to -40."

    BUT if you last filled in Spain it could be 30% propane / 70% Butane and will stop working with temp down to 4 deg C ( or so). Happens quicker if using heating as gas demand higher than say just fridge. It happened to me.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
Loading...

Share This Page