Rear view camera to Clarion head unit. (1 Viewer)

Barry72

Free Member
Jun 20, 2016
Perthshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
It was all going so well, took the dash of the Hymer apart to try and fix the poor radio reception and fit a tracker device, thought while it was in bits it would be a good idea to fit the camera too while access was easy. Radio now crystal clear, £20 tracker works surprisingly well and the rear view camera.........nothing, just a blank screen.
The head unit is a Clarion VRX848RVD and the camera is the twin lens Sony unit from Reversing Cameras UK CAM222WMV. I plugged the camera into an old TV and got a picture, not great but think that is due to the TV. When I plug the camera into the head unit I just get a blank screen. I was warned that some head units are not compatible with the PAL camera but I'm sure I read in the manual that PAL cameras were supported (I assume the manual version is correct for the head unit). I know that without the parking brake input signal the display will give audio only, it has the signal and when I remove it I get the audio only warning.
Starting to wonder if it is a compatibility problem, need to find out quickly so I can return the camera or am I missing a trick here. Three out of three jobs completed in one go was probably a bit optimistic.
Any help or advice gratefully received.

Barry.

Nov 11, 2013
Tewkesbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL 668
Exp
March 2014
Not sure of the terminology, but I have a Waeco camera into a Pioneer head unit and there is some kind of Waeco adaptor box fitted between the two. The camera isn't just plugged straight into the head. No real idea what I am talking about sorry.

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
Just had quick look at the section of the manual for connecting none-Clarion video stuff. Have you checked that the radio is set correctly?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DuxDeluxe

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 10, 2008