Free Member
Nov 6, 2016
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
We're looking at getting a Hymer MLT 580 with a MTPLM of 3880. My husband will be 68 next year, has anyone had any issues with the DVLA medicals? Thank you.

Aug 18, 2011
derbys
Funster No
MH
AUTOSLEEPER SYMBOL
Exp
since 2007.Tugger before since 1970
If you are fit and healthy with good eye sight it won't be a problem,,I used a doctor who advertised locally to do my medical.£40 and he filled all the forms in for me,,i just had to sign them..I think a lot of the delays are caused by mistakes on the forms,,BUSBY,,

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
We're looking at getting a Hymer MLT 580 with a MTPLM of 3880. My husband will be 68 next year, has anyone had any issues with the DVLA medicals? Thank you.
Not that I'm near that age but it might be worth your hubby having a chat with his doctor before committing to purchasing the vehicle just to be safe!

Personally I would be wary of committing to such a large purchase when I know that I'll 'hit' a big milestone (driving wise!) that may prevent me from using it in the future UNLESS it could be down plated to 3500 if needs be and still usable.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Just found some info about it, assuming it's this age/model:

http://www.practicalmotorhome.com/reviews/motorhome/30320-hymer-ml-t-580

If so at 3500kg it's allegedly got 530kg of payload (less any extra kit which has been fitted) which is more than sufficient for most people so downplating if necessary wouldn't appear to be an issue.

John & Joan

Free Member
Mar 30, 2010
Darlington
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
10 years this time