Rapido A Class mirror removal advice please (1 Viewer)

Aug 19, 2009
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Is it an easy job taking off one of these mirrors from a Rapido A class? (See pic below) I have a narrow gate to get through when I take our Rapido home, if I loosen the two allen bolts and push both mirrors in as far as they will go I have a circa 3mm-4mm gap each side between the mirrors and the oak gate posts! I am not exaggerating. If it’s a straight forward job of unbolting it off the vehicle and uncoupling wire connectors and reversing the procedure to replace I’ll have a go rather than risk cracking the mirrors casing. Our Rapido is a 9066df.

Attachments

• D3B7AD55-CB26-447E-A00F-A8AE40AB052D.jpeg
    D3B7AD55-CB26-447E-A00F-A8AE40AB052D.jpeg
    112 KB · Views: 214

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
I have a Rapido with coach mirrors.
Personally I would be concerned at repeated removal and re fitting. I don’t know what’s behind the outer skin, must be some kind of captive nuts.

Will the mirrors not swivel enough to allow the arms to totally fold back?

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Like Rich, I would be concerned, if the fixing work loose you could be in for a serious repair bill also just loosening like you keep doing is risky. Also what about the possibility of water ingress via the threaded inserts. I would think the safest option would be to modify the gate posts, could you not just notch the posts to clear the mirrors.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
goneoff
Aug 19, 2009
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I have a Rapido with coach mirrors.
Personally I would be concerned at repeated removal and re fitting. I don’t know what’s behind the outer skin, must be some kind of captive nuts.

Will the mirrors not swivel enough to allow the arms to totally fold back?