Quality of Hymers 2007-9 (1 Viewer)

Dec 17, 2016
Malvern
Funster No
MH
Hymer B525 2006 A cl
Exp
I've seen some mention on fora (sorry, not just Fun,:() about a decline in quality of Hymers built 2007-9. I have heard about the headlamps failing and iffy drop down bed. Anything else? Was damp an issue? The ones I have seen from this date seem fine to me but I'm new to the land of big motorhomes and wouldn't know what I am looking for! I'm particularly interested in A class.

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
I have a 2005. When I was looking I didn't want a newer one because later versions appear use much less real wood in the furniture and I prefer its appearance. I find it hard to believe body construction on late versions is not at least as good as mine. For a few years now they have used no wood within the body shell.

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
My last van was a 2008 Tramp had it for 6 years quality very good apart from the Hartal door. Steer clear of Champagne Gold colour ones 2007/2008 problems with corrosion on the door. Even though my van was out of warranty when I found the problem Hymer replaced the door. There was a problem with left hand headlamps shattering but if they haven't gone by now should be OK. Hymer's rarely suffer from damp and as they are constructed with the PUAL system it won't cause any major problems anyway.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

canopus

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2010
rural Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Carado CV640 Pro
Exp
Since 2010
Ive read somewhere that when Erwin Hymer relinquished control of the company, the build quality suffered. Consequently, Hymer lost some of their previous market share. I believe the Hymer board subsequently recognised their shortcomings and and decided to buck their ideas up to get their brand back on top - cant find the story though.

Feb 24, 2013