Putting in another 12v socket in the cab of my Boxer. (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
This should be straight forward, or so I thought. But as a total novice, a slight deviation from the expected can throw you off. And that's what's happened here.

I opened the panel up and found three cables, not the expected two - I was hoping to see a red and a black one.

However there is some odd white block shaped connection. Quickly onto youtube and I found a video of this guy. He just clips off the white block, crimps on a spade connector and attaches the positive and negative to the socket, tapes up the unused wire and away it goes. All working. So I thought I'd copy him. But my wires are a different colour to his! He does say he's working on a Fiat though.

Now, I have a black wire, a red/blue striped wire and a yellow/green striped wire. I assume the two I need are the black and the red/blue because the green/yellow is thinner guage.

lighter.jpg

What I need to know is which wire do I connect to the positive side and negative side of the socket and which is the unneeded one to tape up?

I bet you're all rolling your eyes at me!

Thanks in advance for your help! :giggle:

MisterB

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 25, 2018
Essex
Funster No
MH
Adria 670 SLT
Exp
enough to know i shouldnt touch things i know nothing about ....
You need a tester of some sort. I initially thought it might be 240v due to the green/yellow coloured earth, but it's more likely that someone has used earth sleeving as an insulator. . It might still be an earth to chassis though. Treat yourself to a multimeter, it will be a good long term investment and not just for safety reasons !!

What are you actually removing ??

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!