Programme list

Discussion in 'Computers' started by matamoros, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,612
    Anybody know how I can find a list of installed programs on Windows 8.1?
     
  2. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6,022
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +12,355
    I thought you could do it through "Control Panel"
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,612
    Tried that, I can access a list in order to delete them but what I need is a list that I can use to open them if there is no icon on my desktop.
     
  4. Vanman

    Vanman Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Runcorn
    Ratings:
    +1,332
    If you search for "uninstal" you can use that to list or edit programs installed in W8. Once you have the program name you can search for that too. Find it in explorer then right click - copy to desktop, to put a link on your desktop
     
  5. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,612
    Yes but can I open them from there?
     
  6. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    N.somerset
    Ratings:
    +495
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,612
    Looks abit complicated for me but I will investigate.(y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Vanman

    Vanman Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Runcorn
    Ratings:
    +1,332
    Not from there, but if you open Explorer and find the exe file, right click it to send a copy to your Desktop, you can from there. To be fair you only asked to find them in the OP ;)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,612
    And how does one go about finding the exe file?:)

    All getting a bit complicated for me, it was much simpler on Vista:)
     
  10. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    N.somerset
    Ratings:
    +495
    You wont find the exe unless you have file extensions enabled.they are hidden by default.☺
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,612
    It's getting more complicated..........aargh!!:)
     
  12. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    N.somerset
    Ratings:
    +495
    download and install classic shell.You can now go to the bottom left and right click to get the settings.Get your start button and programmes back as in windows 7
    classic shell.png
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +6,612
    Thanks, I will give it a go when I have some spare time and a better internet connection.
     
Loading...

Share This Page