Tonjie

Free Member
Aug 8, 2019
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Has anyone had any dealings with a motorhome dealer called Gunthorpe motorhomes Ltd, Gunthorpe, Nottinghamshire?

I bought a motorhome from them and have been fighting for a refund since I signed the contract in July.
He failed to do an MOT or habitation check which he said he would do both. 29 different dangerous or major faults have been found on this vehicle and he is now saying they have happened since I collected it on 10th August. The cost of the vehicle was £28,500 and repairs so far to get it through its test are £1,648

Despite letters, e mails and telephone calls , he is not replying to requests of specific things like what was done in preparation (he had it for 20 days before collection). Contract also states 12 months MOT, new cambelt 12 months warranty (all not done or will not confirm they have been done)

One was a tyre that was eight years out of date. other faults include brakes, lights, faulty gear selector lever and fuel gauge reading full when tank is empty.

I am in touch with Solicitors but their forecast is that it will take 12 to 18 months to get it to court and then with only being able to claim for the cost of repairs. I will not get a full refund which I am seeking.

Please private message me rather than discussing it in open forum as this may affect any court or solicitor's actions.

Many thanks

Sep 3, 2012
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
C Class Elddis 175
Exp
8+ years
Less than 30k and you can start a small claim on line, not expensive. Most dont go thru the courts but are done by correspondence now. Check it out on line.
As an after thought have you checked the mot status and background previous mot. See if they have had an mot done and its failed etc.

Upvote 0

Gellyneck

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 5, 2014
Scotland
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
More than toes wet now!
Did you pay (at least part of it) by credit card? If so, could you use Section 75 to obtain redress?