Problem with 12v electrics (1 Viewer)

Sep 13, 2017
HERTFORSHIRE
Funster No
MH
C CLASS
Exp
I'M A NEWBIE
Hi, I have an Autocruise Stardream 2010 with a solar panel and have got a strange problem with the 12v electrics. When on hook up everything works ok and in daylight hours off hookup everything works. However once we start loosing the sun everything shuts down including control panel and can't be reset. If prior to getting dark I switch the battery to vehicle instead of leisure the electrics work. Both the leisure and vehicle battery were replaced the middle of last year and have been tested and are ok. I have been told that its probably the fuse board at fault and needs replacing. Has anyone had a similar problem and resolved it? I thought its was worth asking before I fork out £ 300 for a replacement fuseboard. Thanks.

SandraL

Free Member
Jan 24, 2012
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Hymer b694sl
Exp
Since 2012 + Caravanner for 20+ years
I think you should put a voltmeter across the leisure battery terminals first.
Does it see volts rise when mains on? Or solar charging or when engine running.

Could be its flat or just not getting charged.

Upvote 0
Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
You need to do more testing before assuming the 'fuse panel' (by which I assume you mean the control panel) is at fault. Make sure that 12v from the leisure battery is reaching the control panel for a start.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Dangerous
Sep 13, 2017
HERTFORSHIRE
Funster No
MH
C CLASS
Exp
I'M A NEWBIE
I had a mobile motorhome technician look at the problem in daylight hours and he covered up the solar panel and the electrics immediately shut down he then checked battery and it was showing a full charge. It was him who said he thought it was the fuseboard as control panel has already been replaced.

Upvote 0

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging