price advertised v price paid? (1 Viewer)

Mar 23, 2017
Chudleigh, Devon
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde 2
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi all, like many others we are looking to buy our first MH.

We are looking at dealers and private adverts of around £16-18,000. But I've really no idea how much we should expect to pay for something advertised at £18,000.

I've bought plenty of second hand cars for about £5,000 and a few houses (for more!) and kind of knew what sort of discount to expect but have no experience of buying what is effectively a second hand car for such a high price!

Can anyone share with me what they actually paid compared to advertised prices on a second hand MH, either from a dealer or private?

We have in mind a U shaped lounge 4 berth maybe 2001-2004? so possibly a Compass 200 or Swift?

androidGB

Free Member
Dec 28, 2009
Bristol
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since 2001
I'd suggest offering 10% under the asking price rounded down. If it was something I really wanted I'd be happy to pay 7.5% under the advertised price (assuming of course that the asking price was realistic)

Andrew

Upvote 0

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Off topic a bit but be aware 4 berth does not always mean 4 seat belts, just in case you need them. I would also aim at 10% off but its spring and people are starting to look so haggling may be harder. Best go on a rainy day.

Upvote 0
Oct 1, 2007
Kirby cross further from londin
Funster No
MH
Between Motor homes
Exp
since 08

We are looking at dealers and private adverts of around £16-18,000. But I've really no idea how much we should expect to pay for something advertised at £18,000.

I've bought plenty of second hand cars for about £5,000 and a few houses (for more!) and kind of knew what sort of discount to expect but have no experience of buying what is effectively a second hand car for such a high price!