Powerline Ethernet Network Adapter

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ShiftZZ, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,059
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,835
    Any thoughts?

    Anyone use them to connect throught the house mains system?
     
  2. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,770
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Ratings:
    +13,864
    Always used Belkin Hlda they just errrrr work. :thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Douglas

    Douglas

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Ratings:
    +402
    I use a "Netwgear" FS108 10/100Mbps which is an 8 port unit. never had any problem of any kind, I have 1 desktop, 2 laptops and a Dell power edge 1850 server all connected through the network.

    Doug...
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,631
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,249
    Do the job properly.

    I don't know what they claim but it can't be as reliable as a few pounds worth of CAT 5.

    Can't be as reliable as WiFi.

    I know that with X-10 on the mains wiring it's far from bulletproof.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,059
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,835
    Thanks Doug..

    I am thinking of adding an echostar video recorder, sat thingy with TIVO.

    Currently running:

    4 Dell Laptops
    2 Dell Desktops
    1 Iphone
    2 Kindle
    HP Homeserver
    3 printers
    3 wifi cameras


    I was hoping to add a second wireless router via Powerline and take some pressure off the wifi router
     
  6. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,815
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +9,824
    Bloody hell Shifftz where do you live? Curry's:winky:
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  7. pablomc

    pablomc Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +238
  8. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,021
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +541
    i have used comtrend 200mbps ones for a few years now to get movies from my pc to my media player which is hooked up to my tv, never had any problems ,work out of the box and have just started to steam HD movies and sky go on the tv with them , i would recommend using them if you don't want cables trailing all over and wifi is no good for HD movies
     
  9. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15,880
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +16,423
    I have one of these...it works well and covers all my low sigmal areas without any wires or usb cables.:thumb:
    NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender - Wireless network
     
  10. Drew

    Drew Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    434
    Location:
    Hebden Bridge
    Ratings:
    +214
    I live in an old stone farmhouse with thick walls and radio signals just don't penetrate so invested in Homeplug Turbo 85mbps which work really well, I have 3 one for the router, one for laptop and one on the Freesat box which gives me BBC iPlayer. I don't need the 200mbps speed but if I went down that route they also do a wireless version so from router to room via mains cable then wireless in the room, I think that's how it works:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  11. Scout

    Scout Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,834
    Location:
    doncaster
    Ratings:
    +25,245
    My IT tecky son-law told me they work ok as long as both units are on the same ring main, so if you have one ring main for upstairs and one for down stairs it dont allways work.
     
  12. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    Ratings:
    +412
    My thoughts on these (I work in the Telecoms arena) is that "They work as designed".

    Nothing great, but a good Plan B.

    I edit lots of photos and store the photos on a NAS box which normally connects to my home network via a 1GB switch that my editting PC attaches to.

    If you can imagine, my "RAW" photos are anything between 20 and 30mb each, so speed is required. On a 1GB connection, you don't notice too much of a difference for those stored locally.

    Wireless is no good, I have a WiFi N, which is running at 150mbs, great for normal things, but far too slow for pictures, which is why I don't use my Laptop for editting. I gave one of the Powerline adapters a go and yes, it works fine and was getting slightly better results than Wifi, but still not quick enough.

    Therefore, for general usage (Internet for example), it's great, but for moving large amounts of data then no.
     
  13. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,230
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Ratings:
    +16,745
    Hi Shift

    I use the PowerLine units. Wireless is out due to the thickness of the walls. I run the units all over the place, and even use an Apple Airport Express to boost the Wifi in some parts of the house so my iPad and BBC iPlayer combo works

    Not the very best way to do it, I agree running cable is better, but, in my case this is practicable so this is an acceptable solutions

    Cheers

    Eddie
     
  14. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    Ratings:
    +412
    One thing to remember with any home network.

    If you are just simply trying to get an extension to your Internet connection, speed shouldn't be an issue, even if you are running things like BBC iPlayer with HD video.

    If you are one of the lucky ones, the quickest internet connection you'll have at home is 30mb, really lucky if you managed to get 100mb as advertised by BT currently (that I'd like to see!).

    Even if you are only getting 100mb across your network, it's still quicker than your internet connection, so you'll be fine.

    To throw a spanner in the works though, you can have latency issues, which is sort of different to speed. Bandwidth is the speed you get the data onto the line, latency is how long it takes. That's why a 150mb Wifi connection is slower than a 100mb wired connection.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. kkclassic

    kkclassic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +63
  16. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,631
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,249
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. stephsol
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    243

Share This Page