powering up..? (1 Viewer)

roger.the.cab

Free Member
May 8, 2021
Funster No
MH
RV
Hi folks.. this is my first post.
I am looking to travel full time around the UK as a photographer.
As such, it is a priority that I am able to edit my images.. to this end I am hoping to find a way to power my desktop computer whilst on the road.
Any advice and/or assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks
RTC

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
:welc:
Can you switch to a laptop?
That would be on a battery some/most of the time, or be a lower power drain when on an AC adapter.

A desktop is a mains powered chassis & tv screen.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
You could use an inverter, a device which changes 12v battery power to 230v mains power.
As well as an inverter you would need more batteries and a means of recharging them.... Possibly each day... Such as solar panels.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Sep 23, 2013
Lincs
Funster No
MH
Globecar Campscout
Exp
Since 2008 (started in a VW T4 campervan)
Wissel built himself a 12v powered system if I remember correctly.

Look for 'Sailing Uma' on YouTube. They edit high quality video on a sailing boat with very limited power.

I don't do video or photo editing, but I do work in the van with a desktop equivalent laptop & second screen without difficulty. 200W solar on the roof & 2 x 85AH gel batteries. Modern laptops will charge through the USB-C port, so easy to power form 12v.

OP
OP
roger.the.cab

roger.the.cab

Free Member
May 8, 2021
Funster No
MH
RV
Kevenh hi.. thanks for the response..
I considered a laptop of which I have a small Acer Aspire which I use (or used before the current situation) during my backpacking trips abroad.
I suppose I could get hold of a laptop with a larger screen and memory it would just mean getting used to editing on a smaller screen.