Power whilst driving

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by Vlad The Impaler, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Rutland
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Just altered wiring to seargent unit on van,so that electrics work in rear whilst driving.Simply a matter of unscrewing unit and locating red and yellow wire on large black block connector.Cut wire a couple inches back from block connector (allowing for reconnection if required) tape ends and job done .Works on apache 2003...2005. Possibly other vans with same seargent unit.
    Thanks to Jonandshell for providing me with necessary info.

    :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  2. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,256
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +2,284
    Sounds like one of those classic bomb disposal movies ::bigsmile:

    Wyn
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. C.L.S

    C.L.S Trader - Service & Repairs

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    446
    Ratings:
    +59
    By doing this you can lose the step auto retracting when the engine starts , satellite dish will not lower and the fridge will not be powered by 12v.
    May be a better idea to fit a rocker switch allowing you to interrupt the ignition live feed (D+) only when required
    Hope this helps

    Mark
     
  4. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,248
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,194
    Or don't have a British van and then you won't have the problem in the first place:roflmto: . Anyone know why it's apparently perfectly safe to have power to the habitation area in a Euro van but not in a British one?
     
  5. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Rutland
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    All is well fear not

    My step stil retracts and fridge still works on 12v as I was told it would or I would not have done it .As for sat dish can't afford a posh one mines in a plastic case in my locker waiting for the day someone shows me how to use the bloody thing properly.
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  6. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    17,456
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +62,604
    In the end we had to go for a posh one. There was only so much I could take of satellite compasses, dish angles and messing about ( usually in the rain). Tried it 4 times and never got the hint of a picture:Doh:
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,552
    We found an easier - and cheaper - answer. Stopped watching the telly and left the sat dish &c at home for if we ever change our minds ::bigsmile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  8. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,248
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,194
    Thats my solution too. I really couldn't be bothered with all that fuss and expense just to watch rubbish.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2

Share This Page