power supply meter

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by jgee, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. jgee

    jgee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    wigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    when on hook up is there meter you can buy that when plugged into a socket it would show you the actual amperage you are consuming is there such a device:Smile:
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,140
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +32,640
    Two ways.....

    A 13A plug in unit that shows what current is flowing through it - difficult to use for the hook up lead.

    A clamp on sensor which requires that you fit the little clamp/transmitter round the main live feed to the van. You need to work inside your consumer unit to get at the wire, or maybe the wall mounted plug where you plug your hook-up into.

    All on the maplin web site.
     
  3. zaskar

    zaskar Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    993
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    Yes. It's called an Owl Power Monitor. It's available from Argos for about £30 and is WELL worth it.
    I bought one on the recomendation of ScotJimLand and even tho I'm very good at juggling/balancing power usage from experience, I've still found it to be an EXTREMELY usefull bit of kit to have.
    It's wireless, easy to fit and extremely acurate.
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,140
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +32,640
  5. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,437
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,029
    Southern Electric were giving them away for free!

    I fitted one and wife removed it!

    Peter
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,072
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +28,284
    As previous suggestions,

    I bought an Owl about 18 months ago for the RV but now use it indoors.. great bit of kit.. :thumb:

    I bought from Argos, but Tesco Direct have it cheaper
    http://direct.tesco.com/q/R.206-0054.aspx

    Not so long ago they had them 'in store' on offer .. worth checking
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,595
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +22,104
    i use the owl monitor and it is good....

    it doesnt show amps but does show Kilowatts
    an easy conversion to amps though.

    1kw = 4.34amps @ 230v....4.16amps @ 240v

    divide kw by volts = amps
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,072
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +28,284
    Correct John..

    but you can set the alarm to go off when you reach say 16A

    16A x 230V = 3.68 kw

    I set mine to alarm at 3.6kw which allows for any errors .. also lets you switch off before it trips..

    For lower amp supplies you must remember to reset the alarm, so a 10A ehu would be set at 2.3kw
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,595
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +22,104
    very true Jim but as i havent used mine in the van yet i forgot about the alarm function. :Doh:
     
Loading...

Share This Page