UberTramp

Free Member
Sep 22, 2019
Warrington'ish
Funster No
MH
63 plate mk7 transit
Exp
I've roughed it in a couple of Van's. Time for some comforts. Currently living in my van.
Hello to all.. I might have to explain my situation to give you an idea of why I'm asking this, open to new suggestions too!
So I'm currently living in my van, as a van.. like tin walls n'all that. I'm pretty cushy in there, I seem thrive roughing it!
I have a fair idea of the end goal with the van, but of course funds are the only thing holding me back, and with winter coming I have to be savvy with how I do things.. I'm less worried about heating than I am ventilating the van. So I want a decent fan in there, ideally as the insulation goes in. (I work in construction so this part is going to be cheap and relatively easy for me)
But, with xmas coming and other financial commitments I dont think I can afford the solar to power it until the new year.. so I was wondering, what can I power the fan with?
My first thought was to get a couple of those small sealed lead batterys, those 12v 7ah ones. have one power the fan and the other charging off the altinator somehow? Then just keep swapping them over.
Or is there another option?

Sorry if that was too long! thanks though.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
A 4" computer fan may be OK but a decent 12v fan will last about an hour or less on a 7ah battery
Charging from the alternator is going nowhere, it could take hours.
The only way that would work is a B2B charger which tricks your alternator into outputting it's full amps..... But that's going to cost more than a decent solar panel and controller which, in winter, is frankly going to be pretty useless anyway.
If you're well away from other people and houses a small generator will be your best bet.

Jul 13, 2008
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2007