PLUG IN SYSTEMS battery charger not giving out any volts (1 Viewer)

Drexel

Free Member
Jul 14, 2019
Co Kerry Ireland
Funster No
MH
hymer starline680
Exp
im a newbie
hi im new to this forum but in one days membership have got advice and repaired/replaced 2 relay switches and now have a leisure battery that charges has it should when engine is running ,so time to try to solve 2nd problem on my very long list
i have a 1995 swift royale and the battery charger (PLUG IN SYSTEMS )isn't charging, it has mains power to it and switch on top of charger lights up but the red wire and white wire that leave it give very little volts ,at moment 4.6 and dropping ,it looks to me like the leisure battery when connected to the charger is sending power back into the charger because when i first disconnect the feed to the battery it reads what ever the battery is but starts dropping immediately.i have no experience with these chargers so my question is ,is it buggered or is there something i must do ,ive checked the fuse annd thats fine and working also i have a normal car battery charger that i will use if needed until i sort this problem and move onto my next on the list ,thanks in advance

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
Measure battery voltage with charger disconnected. Connect charger and switch on mains supply. Re-check battery voltage and it should be higher. Check again the following day when battery voltage should be in excess of 13.5v.

OP
OP
Drexel

Drexel

Free Member
Jul 14, 2019
Co Kerry Ireland
Funster No
MH
hymer starline680
Exp
im a newbie
thanks tonyidle
ive done this and the charge didn't rise and left over night it dropped so definitely not giving any charge

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Allanm

Free Member
Jun 30, 2013
Cotes d'armor, France
Funster No
MH
Burstner Harmony TI 736 G
Exp
Since 1987
From your description it looks like the charger isn’t doing anything.